Databases are searchable indexes of high quality, published literature. You can use databases to search for literature by subject or by author. These are the most useful databases for Economics students:
- Business Source Complete Full text coverage for more than 1,800 peer reviewed business and economics journals. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals plus 17,000 detailed company profiles for the world's largest companies. Tutorial on using Business Source Complete
- Nexis UK Access to regional, national and global newspapers, Global company financial , company information, market research data, and country information, including the BBC monitoring service.Tutorials on using Nexis UK
- Financial Times is available on Nexis UK from 1982 to date. Direct link to FT on Nexis UK
- Emerald Full text coverage of over 150 titles in the fields of management, information science and engineering
- Web of Science a database which indexes journal literature in all subjects. Choose the Social Science section for Economics.
- JSTOR provides access to the full text of many core journals in the Economics area. It is searchable by author and subject. Tutorial on using JSTOR
- BankScope contains comprehensive information on banks across the globe. You can use it to research individual banks and find banks with specific profiles and analyse them. BankScope has up to 16 years of detailed accounts for each bank. BankScope contains information on 30,000 banks. Userguide to Bankscope
For off campus access to most databases, you will need a password.
A more comprehensive list of Economics related databases is available here,
See Metalib, our e-resources portal for information about the our full range of electronic resources
Senate House Library provides access to ABI/INFORM another large Economics/Business database. Login with details from your Senate House card.