Databases are excellent sources of good quality information. Below is a range of databases relevant to Biological Sciences.
- BioOne: Database/Portal with more than 180 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
- JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments is the first peer-reviewed scientific video journal.
- Embase: Comprehensive journal and conference coverage across biomedicine. Contains citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature. Displays drug information.
- Henry Stewart Talks: Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection: Biomedical and Life Science lecture resource.
- PubMed: Indexing biomedical literature from MEDLINE and supplementary life science journals. Contains citations and abstracts. Also links to full-text content where available from open-access sources or via the "library- check full text" button.
- Scopus: Multi-disciplinary database containing the citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature. This database lists the number of times a work has been cited in other works and provides direct links to the abstracts of citing works. Access to full-text subscription content where available at QMUL Library via the "library- check full text" button.
- Science Direct: A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books, also covering life sciences.
- Web of Science: Multi-disciplinary database containing the citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature. This database lists the number of times a work has been cited in other works and provides direct links to the abstracts of citing works. Access to full-text subscription content where available at QMUL Library via the "library- check full text" button.
Other useful databases:
- Box of Broadcasts (BOB): Innovative shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. Choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels, schedule recordings in advance, edit programmes into clips, create playlists, embed clips into QMplus, share what you are watching with others and search a growing archive of material. Discover more about BoB National features by viewing their video tutorials.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Online directory containing open access material in many subjects. To find relevant articles/journals search for your subject or browse under Science to find Biology and related subjects.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library: A full-text access database which is primarily covering electronic engineering and computer sciences, however, it does also have resources potentially useful for biology students as it covers areas such as cancer detection and DNA sequences.
- JSTOR: Multi-disciplinary database which provides citations, abstracts, and outlines to a lot of journals, books and primary sources connected to Biological Sciences. In some cases, it also offers full-text access if it is within our subscription.
- Kanopy: A video streaming service giving access to over 20,000 films from leading producers.
- Oxford Reference: An online resource that brings together two million digitized entries from OUP's Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias. Good for checking a fact or finding key information on a person, concept or term.
- Statista: Provides statistical data from a wide range of international sources on populations, industries, economics, media, public opinion, companies, politics, lifestyles, and many other topics.
The databases listed above are only a small part of the database collections at QMUL and Senate House Libraries. You can find the full list of databases available at QMUL via the Library's A-Z List of Electronic Journals and Databases. If the topic you are studying crosses a number of different subject areas, you may find it useful to check the other Library Subject Guide pages for useful resources, contacts, and information.