The page provides a useful list of websites to different aspects of the Biochemistry module. Please note the list is not extensive and many websites cross over with different modules within the full course outline. Please see below.
- ChemTube3D: Resource created by the University of Liverpool, which provides information on organic chemistry, structure and bonding, polymers and inorganic chemistry through a series of interactive animations.
- ChemWeb: The site holds a useful list of journals and provides an overview of a range of core chemistry topics.
- eMolecules: Useful for laboratory write-ups as it provides access to a range of free chemical structures and allows you to search more reliably through chemical structure
- National Chemical Database Service: Provides essential information on the properties and reactions of organic systems and access to a range of useful chemistry resources, factsheets and videos to further your understanding.
- NIST Chemistry WebBook: The website allows you to explore chemical structures based on physical properties such as molecular weight, vibrational and electronic energies and ion energetic properties.
- Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide: The site provides an outline on synthesis preparation, experimental setup and purification and is useful for reporting and communicating laboratory experiments.
- International union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC): The site gives a compressive list of biochemistry topics to master and a glossary of class names of organic compounds and reactive intermediates based on structure.
- IUPAC Glossary of terms used in Medicinal Chemistry: The site presents a useful list and of terminology, providing consistent definitions for chemistry related terms.
- Kaye and Laby Online: The site gives you access to a comprehensive table of contents and allows you to search for relevant biochemistry topics (like chemical thermodynamics, electrochemistry, properties of chemical bonds, Mass spectrometry etc).
- Medicinal Chemistry Glossary: The comprehensive glossary covers nomenclature and the structural features of organic compounds (including information on functional groups, aliphatic compounds, and heterocycles).
- RSC Periodic Table: The interactive periodic table allows you to explore the history of elements through a series of podcasts, videos and data trends.
- ProteinKinase: The site gives a comprehensive overview of kinases, protein kinase inhibitors as well as the technology and assays involved in enzyme research.
- Biochemical Society (UK)
If you’re a Biochemistry student and know of any other useful sites, then please get in touch at: firstname.lastname@example.org