The page provides a useful list of websites to different aspects of the Pharmacology. Please note that the list is not extensive, and it is also a work in progress, which means it will be updated on a regular basis.
- DrugBank: Large database of medicines and medicine targets. It is possible to download the database for educational use after a free registration.
- Drugs.com: Publically available information about various medicines. Does also contain a section on British medicines.
- Medicines A-Z: Publically available directory of common medicines from the NHS.
- Medicines Information – SPC & PILS: A collection of patient information leaflet (PIL), which are based on the Summaries of Product Characteristics (SPCs) arranged by active substances.
- RxList: Provides a wealth of drug/medicine information.
- BindingDB: Gives access to a wealth of information about measured binding affinities.
- IUPHAR/BPS Guide to Pharmacology: Focuses on ligand-activity-target relationships, and aims to provide a one-stop-shop resource for pharmacology.
- PharmGKB: The Pharmacogenomics Knowledgebase centres around how various human genetic variations responds to drugs.
- ToxTutor: Freely available tutorial to learn about toxicology.
- Good practice in prescribing and managing medicines and devices: Part of the "Ethical guidance for doctors" focusing on drugs and pharmaceuticals.
- Legislation - General Pharmaceutical Council: Gives access to the the Pharmacy Order 2010 which makes the General Pharmaceutical Council the statuary regutor of pharmacology in the United Kingdom.
- Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA): Contains full-text access to much regulatory and policy information, including related news from the British government and its agencies.
Information about patents please go to the Chemistry Patent Page.
Museums, organisations of interest
- London Museums of Health & Medicine: Comprehensive guide to many health related museums in London.
- Royal Pharmaceutical Society Museum: Funded in 1842, the Museum focuses on the history of pharmaceuticals.
- Wellcome Trust: Charitable trust which grew out of pharmaceutical success, and strives for "the advancement of medical and scientific research to improve mankind's wellbeing". They have many ongoing exhibitions and a very well stocked library.
- British Association for Psychopharmacology (BAP)
- British Pharmacological Society (BPS)
- Pharmaceutical Society NI (PSNI)
- Royal Pharmaceutical Society