Databases are excellent sources of good quality information. Below are a range of databases relevant to Chemistry.
- ChemIDplus: A free database of 350000 chemical compounds. Records consist of name, synonyms, CAS number, molecular formula, and direct links to biomedical resources.
- IPCS Inchem: Chemical Safety Information from Intergovernmental Organisations. Provides access to internationally peer reviewed information on chemicals commonly used throughout the world.
- Physical Science Data-Science Service: Replaced the Chemical Database Service. This service gives on-line access to a rich variety of quality databases in the field of chemistry. It is free of charge to eligible users. To register you must be affiliated to a University or one of the other academic teaching and research institutions within the UK. The service includes access to Inorganic Crystal Structure Database (ICSD) and I-Lab. If you want to use the service off campus, please register.
- JoVE: Journal of Visualized Experiments is the first peer-reviewed scientific video journal.
- PubChem: A free database of chemical structures of small organic molecules and information on their biological activities.
- PubMed: Database indexing biomedical literature from MEDLINE and supplementary life science journals. Contains citations and abstracts. Also links to full-text content where available from open-access sources or from QMUL Library via the "library- check full text" button.
- Reaxys: Provides access to Beilstein (organic) Gmelin (inorganic) and patent chemistry databases. It covers over 200 years of primary literature and contains data on structures, reactions, facts and citations for more than 11 million organic, inorganic and organometallic compounds.
- SciFinder: Provides the most complete coverage of Chemistry and related fields. You need to be registered to use this database, and logging in either on campus or accessing the service through our proxy-server through above. This means you will need to login twice off-campus (first with your QMUL user name and password and then with your SciFinder user name and password)
- SciFinder-n: Use your credentials from SciFinder to login.
- Scopus: Multi-disciplinary database containing the citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature. This database lists the number of times a work has been cited in other works and provides direct links to the abstracts of citing works. Access to full-text subscription content where available at QMUL Library via the "library- check full text" button.
- Web of Science: Multi-disciplinary database containing the citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature. This database lists the number of times a work has been cited in other works and provides direct links to the abstracts of citing works. Access to full-text subscription content where available at QMUL Library via the "library- check full text" button.
Other useful databases:
- Box of Broadcasts (BOB): Innovative shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. Choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels, schedule recordings in advance, edit programmes into clips, create playlists, embed clips into QMplus, share what you are watching with others and search a growing archive of material. Discover more about BoB National features by viewing their video tutorials.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Online directory containing open access material in many subjects. To find relevant articles/journals search for your subject or browse under Science to find related subjects.
- JSTOR: Multi-disciplinary database which provides citations, abstracts and outlines to a lot of journals, books and primary sources connected to Chemistry and connected Sciences. In some cases it also offers full-text access if it is within our subscription.
- Kanopy: A videostreaming service giving access to over 20,000 films from leading producers.
- Oxford Reference: An online resource that brings together two million digitized entries from OUP's Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. Good for checking a fact or finding key information on a person, concept or term.
- Statista: Provides statistical data from a wide range of international sources on populations, industries, economics, media, public opinion, companies, politics, lifestyles, and many other topics.
The databases listed above are only a small part of the database collections at Queen Mary. You can find the full list of databases available via the Library's A-Z List of Electronic Journals and Databases. If the topic you are studying crosses a number of different subject areas, you may find it useful to check the other Library Subject Guides for useful resources, contacts, and information.