menu

Library

Subject Guides menu

DATABASES

Databases are excellent sources of good quality information. Below are a range of databases relevant to Education.

  • Education Research Complete

    Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full-text access to more than 1,200 journals and nearly 500 books and monographs.

    Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

  • Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)

    The ERIC database provides a digital library of education-related resources. Contains over 1.1 million citations covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.

  • PsycInfo

    Scholarly articles in psychology, psychiatry, education, social work, criminology, social science, business, & organizational behavior. 1872-present.

     Other useful databases:

  • Box of Broadcasts (BOB)

    Innovative shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. Choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels, schedule recordings in advance, edit programmes into clips, create playlists, embed clips into QMplus, share what you are watching with others and search a growing archive of material. Discover more about BoB National features by viewing their video tutorials.

  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)

    Online directory containing open access material in many subjects. To find relevant articles/journals search for your subject or browse under Science to find related subjects.

  • JSTOR

    Multi-disciplinary database which provides access to the full text of many core academic journals, books and primary sources on the arts, humanities and social sciences. Tutorials

  • Oxford Reference

    An online resource that brings together two million digitized entries from OUP's Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. Good for checking a fact or finding key information on a person, concept or term.

  • Statista

    Provides statistical data from a wide range of international sources on populations, industries, economics, media, public opinion, companies, politics, lifestyles, and many other topics.

The databases listed above are only a small part of the database collections at QMUL and Senate House Libraries. You can find the full list of databases available at QMUL via the Library's A-Z List of Electronic Journals and Databases. If the topic you are studying covers a number of different subject areas, you may find it useful to check the other Library Subject Guide pages for useful resources, contacts and information.

Return to top