A range of high-quality resources for Materials are freely available on the web. Start exploring them here:
General materials websites
- ABINIT: An open-source suite of programs for materials science, distributed under the GNU General Public License. It is developed collaboratively by researchers throughout the world.
- Ceramic Knowledge Centre: Contains a definition and history of ceramics, manufacturing processes, and their impact on society.
- Corrosion Source: A portal to corrosion resources for materials industry and researchers.
- Engineering in Rubber: Glossary of terms, materials data and processing chart with BS and ISO references from Harboro Rubber UK.
- Martindale's Calculators On-line: Links to a range of useful online calculators.
- MatML: Provides information on efforts to develop an extensible markup language (XML) for materials property data.
- MatWeb: Online Materials Information Resource.
- Nanohub: Nano technology resources for Materials Science.
- Netcomposites: "Connecting you to the composites industry". Includes lots of useful resources, such as guides, contact details to retailers and job adverts and much more.
- NIST Materials Genome Initiative: American governmental initiative to explore new materials and uses thereof.
- Orthotics & Prosthetics Product Information - Orthotics & Prosthetics Online: Online information resource for orthotics and prosthetics information.
- Substech: A collection of illustrated articles encompassing many areas in materials science information.
- Thermodex: Created by staff of the Mallet Chemistry Library at the University of Texas, ThermoDex contains records for selected printed and web-based compilations of thermochemical and thermophysical data for chemical compounds and other substances.
- Institute of Materials. Mineral and Mining(IOM3): Institute which gathers professionals who are dealing with any part of the material cycle. IOM3 works on promoting and developing materials science and engineering. They have special interest groups, which organise activities around United Kingdom. Some of their publications are freely available from their website.
- Society for Biomaterials: A professional society, which promotes advances in biomedical materials research and development by encouragement of cooperative educational programs, clinical applications, and professional standards in the biomaterials field.
- Welding Institute: Organisation who caters for material joining and engineering professional. They offer a wealth of technical information such as reports, papers and toolkits to members.
- Academy of Dental Materials [U.S.]: Organises professionals and students who are working with dental materials. The academy organises activities internationally.
- Australasian Society for Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering: Provides a focus for professionals who have interests in research, education, development and regulation of biomaterials, tissue engineering and medical devices.
- The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society [U.S.]: Professional society that connects minerals, metals, and materials scientists and engineers working in industry, academia, and government positions.
- Society of Plastics Engineering: Technical society for the global plastics industry. Membership is required for access to most of their full text resources; however, they do offer a searchable database of their publications.