A range of high-quality resources for English and Drama are available on the web. Start exploring them here:
- British Theatre Guide: An independent website on UK theatre, with reviews, news, features, interviews, podcasts and a weekly email newsletter covering theatre all around the country.
- Live Art Development Agency (LADA) is a publicly funded arts organisation which provides professional advice for artists as well as producing events and publications intended to enhance the understanding of and access to Live Art.
- Open Book Publishers is a UK HSS publisher which enables you to access an openly available list of Open Educational Resources (OER) which includes books and textbooks for free.
- Oxonian Review: Features essays and reviews of recently published work in literature, politics, history, science and the arts. It is published by graduate members of the University of Oxford, although it welcomes contributions from other university members and non-Oxford affiliates.
- Poetry Magazine: The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent Chicago-based literary organisation committed to raising the presence of poetry in American culture.
- Victorian Studies on the Web: Search over 110,000 records listing books, articles and dissertation abstracts published from 1945 to 2014 on every field of 19th-century British studies.
- William Blake Archive: Contains searchable electronic editions of copies of Blake's illuminated books in the context of full, up-to-date bibliographic information about each image, carefully edited transcriptions of all texts, detailed descriptions of all images and extensive bibliographies.
- Working with English: An online, peer-reviewed journal designed to promote new and original research in the field of English.
- QMUL Archives: Institutional records, personal archives and rare prints dating from the 17th century to the present day. The collections document the rich history of the College, and include the research notes of the Shakespearean scholar Harold Jenkins and the records of the College Dramatic Society and the Arts Society.
Be careful when using the Internet for research that the sites you find are reliable and up to date. Check when the page was last updated and think about who is providing the information and why. Sites such as Wikipedia are not suitable for academic work. The archived version of Internet Detective tutorial looks at the critical thinking required when using the Internet for research and offers practical advice on evaluating the quality of websites.