A range of high-quality resources for Film are available on the web. Start exploring them here:
- Arts on Film Archive: Offers a complete database and online video streaming of 450 films made by the Film Department of Arts Council England between 1953 and 1998, and several films produced till 2003 by the dance Department of ACE.
- Box of Broadcasts (BOB): Innovative shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. Choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels, schedule recordings in advance, edit programmes into clips, create playlists, embed clips into VLEs, share what you are watching with others and search a growing archive of material. Discover more about BoB National features by viewing their video tutorials.
- British Council Film: Is the link between UK films and filmmakers and new international audiences. The British Council Film Collection offers an archive of 120 short documentary films made by the British Council during the 1940s designed to show the world how Britain lived, worked and played.
- British Film Institute: The BFI is a charity founded in 1933, bringing together the BFI National Archive and BFI Reuben Library, film distribution, exhibition and education at BFI Southbank and BFI IMAX.
- Learning on Screen (British Universities and Colleges Film and Video Council): A representative body which promotes the production, study and use of moving image, sound and related media in higher education, further education and research.
- Close-Up: An East London based film centre devoted to making film culture and history accessible through its library, film screenings and the online publication of Vertigo Magazine. Its library collection boasts over 18,000 titles and specialises in early cinema, classics, world cinema, documentaries, experimental films and video art. It includes rare films exclusive to Close-Up and made by independent filmmakers not represented by distributors.
- Film Index International: An information resource produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute, indexing films from over 170 countries.
- Internet Archive: Free digital library of moving images and texts, including entire films.
- Internet Movie Database (IMDb): An online database offering information on films, television programmes, actors, production crew, biographies, plot summaries and trivia. See also Glossary of Film Terms.
- Modern Languages Open (MLO) : a peer-reviewed platform for the open access publication of research from across the modern languages to a global audience.
- Movie Review Query Engine (MRQE) (pronounced "marquee"): A database of movie reviews for over 100,000 titles.
- The National Archives: View government public information films here.
- Open Book Publishers is a UK HSS publisher which enables you to access an openly available list of Open Educational Resources (OER) which includes books and textbooks for free.
- Screen Online: A website devoted to the history of British film and television, and to Britain's social history as revealed by film and television.
- Senses of Cinema: A Melbourne-based online film journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema. There is a useful database on directors.
- Simply Scripts: A database of hundreds of downloadable scripts, screenplays, and transcripts of current and classic movies, television, anime, unproduced and radio shows.
- Soundtrack.Net: A source for news and information about composers, movies and television soundtracks, albums, and original scores.
Be careful, when using the internet for research, that the sites you find are reliable and up to date. Check when the page was last updated and think about who is providing the information and why. Sites like Wikipedia are not suitable for academic work. The archived version of Internet Detective tutorial looks at the critical thinking required when using the internet for research and offers practical advice on evaluating the quality of websites.