Databases are excellent sources of good quality information. Below are a range of databases relevant to Geography.
- Academic Search Complete: A multi-disciplinary database which provides full text for over 4,450 scholarly publications, more than 3,500 of them peer-reviewed. [Senate House Library]
African Diaspora Archive: Essential for understanding Black history and culture, African Diaspora, 1860-Present allows scholars to discover the migrations, communities, and ideologies of the African Diaspora through the voices of people of African descent. With a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France, the collection includes never-before digitized primary source documents, including personal papers, organizational papers, journals, newsletters, court documents, letters, and ephemera. Coverage: 1860-Present
- Box of Broadcasts (BOB): Innovative shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. Choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels, schedule recordings in advance, edit programmes into clips, create playlists, embed clips into QMplus, share what you are watching with others and search a growing archive of material. Discover more about BoB National features by viewing their Video Tutorials.
- Business Source Complete: Full-text coverage for more than 1,800 peer reviewed business and economics journals. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over many more journals, plus 17,000 detailed company profiles for the world's largest companies.
- Digimap: Offers online mapping and data download facilities which provide maps from Ordnance Survey. Queen Mary Library has subscriptions for the Ordnance Survey and Historic sections.
- Emerald: Full-text coverage of over 150 titles including social and international economics.
- Gale Primary Sources is a humanities and social sciences digital primary sources archive that allows you to use a single cross- search interface to access 500 years of world history in multiple collections. For tutorials and training, please click here.
- GreenFILE: Content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
- Guardian and Observer Archive: This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1791 – 2003.
- JSTOR: Provides access to the full text of many core academic journals, books and primary sources on the arts, humanities and social sciences. Tutorials
- Mass Observation Online: Makes available the complete archives of the pioneering social research organisation Mass Observation. There are original manuscript and typescript papers, published reports and photographs, and interactive features.
- MediaPlus: Provides a single point of access to three major multimedia archives. It enables cross-searching and exploration of TV news, documentary films, still images and classical music from the following archives: Digital Images for Education, NewsFilm Online and Film & Sound Online.
- Nexis UK: Provides access to regional, national and global newspapers, company information, market research data and country information, including the BBC monitoring service. Video Tutorials
- The Oxford English Dictionary: Features 600,000 words, 3 million quotations, and over 1000 years of English.
- Oxford Reference: An online reference that brings together 2 million digitised entries across Oxford’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. Best for checking a fact or finding key information on a person, concept, or term.
- Project Muse: Provides full-text access to a collection of more than 300 journals in humanities and social sciences.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Search for dissertations and theses from across the world. [Senate House Library]
- SAGE Research Methods: A database dedicated to research methods across a range of subject areas. SAGE Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process, from writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing the best research methods, analysing data, to writing up results and thinking about publication.
- Scopus: A multi-disciplinary database containing the citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature. This database lists the number of times a work has been cited in other works and provides direct links to the abstracts of citing works. Access to full-text subscription content where available at Queen Mary Library via "Library - check full text" button. Video Tutorial
- Statista: Provides statistical data from a wide range of international sources on populations, industries, economics, media, public opinion, companies, politics, lifestyles and many other topics. Video Tutorial
- Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 which includes the Sunday edition - allows you to search historical data on any number of topics, and offers insight into domestic and international affairs and culture over a timespan of almost 150 years. For tutorials and training, please click here.
- The Times Digital Archive: 1785-2011 (and rolling) provides access to a library of back issues of the newspaper online plus searchable images from the microfilm collection of The Times.
- The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive: 1902-2014 offers insight, criticism, and commentary on literature and the arts from over a century.
- Web of Science: A multi-disciplinary database containing the citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature. This database lists the number of times a work has been cited in other works and provides direct links to the abstracts of citing works. Access to full-text subscription content where available at Queen Mary Library via "Library - check full text" button. Video Tutorial
The databases listed above are only a small part of the database collections at Queen Mary and Senate House Libraries. You can find the full list of databases available at Queen Mary via the Library's A-Z List of Electronic Journals and Databases. If the topic you are studying crosses a number of different subject areas, you may find it helpful to check the other Library Subject Guide pages for useful resources, contacts and information.