A range of high-quality resources for Geography are available on the web. Start exploring them here:
- American Association of Geographers (AAG): Is a non-profit scientific and educational society which contributes to the advancement of the study of geography.
- Charles Booth's London: Provides access to the original records of a vast and detailed survey of life and labour in London carried out between 1886 and 1903.
- ELDIS: Provides free access to research on international development issues. Includes over 30,0000 summaries and links to free full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers.
- Geological Society: Is the UK national society for geoscience and the oldest geological society in the world. Has a library on geoscience information, and runs related courses, lectures, conferences and activities.
- Internet Earth Scientist: A free teach-yourself guide to information on the Internet.
- Internet Geographer: A free teach-yourself guide to information on the Internet.
- OneWorld: A collection of links to non-governmental organisations - good on development and the environment.
- Royal Geographical Society/Institute of British Geographers: Is the UK's learned society and professional body for geography. It supports and promotes geographical research, education, fieldwork and expeditions and geography in society.
Sources of government information
- Directgov: The main gateway to UK central and local government.
- House of Commons Library research papers: Access to research briefings produced by the Libraries of the House of Commons and House of Lords and the Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology (POST).
- legislation.gov.uk: Includes full text of Public and General Acts from 1996 and Statutory Instruments from 1997. Also includes information about Crown and parliamentary copyright.
- Scottish Parliament: The main gateway to information about the Scottish Parliament.
- TSO official documents: Includes full text of Command Papers and House of Commons papers from 2005 onwards.
- UK Parliament: Includes access to Lords and Commons Hansard.
- Welsh Assembly: The main gateway to information about the Welsh government.
Be careful, though, when using the Internet for research that the sites you find are reliable and up to date. Check when the page was last updated and think about who is providing the information and why. Sites such as Wikipedia are not suitable for academic work.
The archived version of Internet Detective tutorial looks at the critical thinking required when using the Internet for research and offers practical advice on evaluating the quality of websites.