In addition to the Queen Mary Library collections, you may be able to access other libraries to find further resources relevant to your subject. Information about the British Library, Senate House Library and the Library Hub Discover catalogue is listed here and further information about accessing other university libraries is here.
There are also the following specialist libraries which all have collections relevant to History:
British Film Institute Reuben Library: BFI Southbank, Belvedere Road, South Bank, London SE1 8XT. Tel: 020 7928 3232
Books, journals, magazines and ephemera on the history of film and television.
British Library: 96 Euston Road, London NW1 2DB. Tel: 0330 3331144
The British Library issues readers' passes subject to the need to see specific items in the collections. Students may be referred to other libraries and sources if they are more appropriate to their research needs. Before attempting to register, students should therefore confirm that the materials they require are not available elsewhere.
Guildhall Library: Guildhall, Aldermanbury, London, EC2V 7HH. Tel: 0207 332 1812
A public reference library with particularly rich collections relating to the history of London.
Institute of Historical Research (University of London): Senate House, Malet Street, WC1E 7HU. Tel: 0207 862 8740
Reference only. Undergraduates admitted to consult material not available elsewhere in London.
The London borough councils maintain archives and local history libraries. The London Metropolitan Archives is based in Clerkenwell and has collections of national importance, while material of more local relevance to the East End can be consulted at the Tower Hamlets Local History Library and Archives in Bancroft Road.
The LSE (London School of Economics): 10 Portugal Street, London, WC2A 2HD. Tel: 0207 955 7229
One of the foremost social science universities in the world. The collections relate to economics, statistics, political science and public administration, and have great value for the student studying history.
The National Art Library: At the Victoria & Albert Museum, Cromwell Road, London SW7 2RL. Tel: 020 7942 2000
A major public reference library devoted to the fine and decorative arts of all countries and periods.
Royal Geographical Society/Institute of British Geographers: 1 Kensington Gore, London SW7 2AR. Tel: 0207 591 3000
The collections provide an unparalled resource for the study of 500 years of geographical discovery and research.
Senate House Library: Senate House, University of London, Malet Street, London WC1E 7HU. Tel: 020 7862 8500
In-depth research collections that cover all periods of history; particular strengths include British and European history, Latin America and the Caribbean.
The Warburg Institiute Library: holds the largest collection on Renaissance studies and the history of the classical tradition.