On this page we are gathering links to Open Access resources for Medicine and Dentistry. If you decide to use any of the images or texts please make sure to follow the license under which the material has been released. If you have suggestions for additions to this list please email: library-SMD@qmul.ac.uk.
QMUL Open Access information
Open Access: Information from the QMUL Research and Repository Library team which can answer your questions about Open Access.
Queen Mary Research Online: QMUL’s institutional repository where you can get open access to QMUL research.
Other university repositories
OpenDOAR: OpenDOAR is a portal which links up to Open Access repositories from all over the world.
Open Access journals
Archive of Free Full-Text Science Articles from Highwire Press: This list is limited to journals published online with the assistance of HighWire Press. Currently, there are over 2,117,523 free full-text articles available. There are 13 journals with free trial periods, 49 that are completely free, 282 that offer free back issues, and 1271 that are only available for pay per view.
BioMed Central: The research articles in all journals published by BioMed Central are Open Access. They are immediately and permanently available online without charge. A number of journals require an institutional or a personal subscription to view other content, such as reviews or paper reports. Free trial subscriptions to these journals are available.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): The directory of Open Access Journals makes it possible to browse journals by subject. It is also possible to search within the different titles for articles of a specific topic.
PubMed Central: provided by the National Library of Medicine, contains over 2.2 million free full-text articles covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Other resources of interest
DPLA: The Digital Public Library of America gives you aggregated data from many libraries and Archives. Some of the material is in the public domain while other items are under various copyright licenses. Make sure if you decide to use material from this site that the item is licensed for what you want to do.
Open I: the Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine, allows you to search within a broad open access image repository.
Open Library: An initiative which gives you access to full-text resources (free after you sign up) which also include science related subjects.
PLOS: Public Library of Science publishes a range of open access journals within Science and Medicine.
Trove: Gateway to online Australian resources: images, texts, videos and more. Hosted by the National Library of Australia. Includes digitised Australian newspapers.