DataDatabases are excellent sources of good quality information. Below are a range of databases relevant to Physics and Astronomy.
- arXiv.org: An open access e-print archive covering physics, mathematics, and computer science
- Astrophysics Data System (ADS) Physics Database: Database providing access to more than 3 million abstracts
- CERN Document Server (CDS): Open access database containing bibliographic records and full text documents in particle physics and related areas
- INSPIRE High-Energy Physics Literature Database: Open-access database of more than 500,000 high-energy physics related articles
- Scopus: Multi-disciplinary database containing the citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature. This database lists the number of times a work has been cited in other works and provides direct links to the abstracts of citing works. Access to full-text subscription content where available at QMUL Library via the "library- check full text" button.
- Web of Science: Multi-disciplinary database containing the citations and abstracts of peer-reviewed literature. This database lists the number of times a work has been cited in other works and provides direct links to the abstracts of citing works. Access to full-text subscription content where available at QMUL Library via the "library- check full text" button.
Other useful databases:
- Box of Broadcasts (BOB): Innovative shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for UK higher and further education institutions. Choose and record any broadcast programme from 60+ TV and radio channels, schedule recordings in advance, edit programmes into clips, create playlists, embed clips into QMplus, share what you are watching with others and search a growing archive of material. Discover more about BoB National features by viewing their video tutorials.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Online directory containing open access material in many subjects. To find relevant articles/journals search for your subject or browse under Science to find related subjects.
- JSTOR: Multi-disciplinary database which provides access to citations, abstracts and outlines for journals, books and primary sources connected to Physics and Astronomy. In some cases it also offers full-text access if it is within our subscription, one example of this is Einstein’s early work.
- Kanopy: A videostreaming service giving access to over 20,000 films from leading producers.
- Oxford Reference: An online resource that brings together two million digitized entries from OUP's Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. Good for checking a fact or finding key information on a person, concept or term.
- Statista: Provides statistical data from a wide range of international sources on populations, industries, economics, media, public opinion, companies, politics, lifestyles, and many other topics.
The databases listed above are only a small part of the database collections at QMUL and Senate House Libraries. You can find the full list of databases available at QMUL via the Library's A-Z List of Electronic Journals and Databases. If the topic you are studying crosses a number of different subject areas, you may find it useful to check the other Library Subject Guide pages for useful resources, contacts and information.