A range of high-quality resources for Psychology are available on the web. Start exploring them here:
- All about Psychology: Comprehensive guide to the world of psychology.
- AllPsych: Comprehensive site which gives access to lots of information for psychologist.
- AmoebaWeb: Guide maintained by Vanguard University which links to many useful free psychology resources online.
- APA Glossary of psychological terms: A glossary over psychological terms provided by APA, but originally created by Gerrig, Richard J. & Philip G. Zimbardo in 2002.
- The British Psychological Society Research Digest: A blog which is exploring current studies and critically assess the methods behind them.
- The British Psychological Society Research Interests List: Research interests list identifying the research interests of academics and researchers in psychology in the UK.
- BBS Prints Archives (Behavioral & Brain Sciences): An internationally renowned journal with the innovative format known as Open Peer Commentary (10-25 commentaries on each article from specialists within and across disciplines, plus the author's response to them).
- Classics in the History of Psychology:This site gives access to classics within psychology and gives access to over 25 full-text books, 200 journal articles from the public domain. It is possible to browse for authors or topics.
- Mednar: Specialised search engine for the Medical field, which discovers material which is freely accessible on the web, but comes from credible sources.
- The Mental Health Foundation A-Z: Contains a A-Z of Mental Health guide for the general public, but it does link into other resources for more background.
- MindEd: An extensive resource for professionals and volunteers, focusing on children and young people’s mental health for all adults. There are also specific resources to support CAMHS and CYP IAPT learners and those on counselling courses.History and Theory of Psychology ePrint Archive: A free service to the community of scholarly historians and theoreticians of psychology with the goal of promoting the rapid dissemination of new work in the field.
- Psych Central: Freely available psychology and mental health resources with news and expert information. It contains a wealth of information for the experts and the general public.
- Psych Web: A range of academic psychology resources.
- SANE: Mental Health Charity for mental health and emotional support in United Kingdom.
- Simply Psychology: A guide to psychology theories and psychology and psychology studies. Aimed at psychology students of all levels.
- Social Psychology Network: Contains hundreds of links to psychology and neuroscience, including teaching resources.
Study skills for psychologists
- Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP): Making sense of critical appraisals skills and focusing in on the evidence. Offers freely available checklists for critical appraisals.
- Psych-Postgrads: Mailing list hosted by JISC covering discussions around psychology-related topics.
- Library Research in Psychology:The Science Directorate of the American Psychological Association (APA) developed this guide for students.
- Methods in Behaviour Research: Online companion to the book with the same title by Paul C. Cozby. Does include lots of links to other resources, but also quizzes and PowerPoints following the themes of the book.
Neuro- and cognitive psychology
- Cognitive Sciences ePrint Archive: University of Southampton:is an electronic archive for papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience and Linguistics and many areas of Computer Science, Philosophy, Medicine, and Anthropology.
- Cogprints: Full-text database of self-archived material in different fields, including psychology and neuroscience.
- Genes to Cognition:Genes to Cognition Online covers modern neuroscience. It focuses on cognitive disorders, cognitive processes, and research approaches and uses dynamic network maps to explore a library of over 750 items. [Requires Adobe Flash]
- Neuropsychology Central:A searchable keyword site, topically organized, with very few annotations.
- Neuroscience Information Framework:A dynamic inventory of Web-based neuroscience resources: data, materials, and tools accessible via the Internet.
- Neurosciences on the Internet: Contains links to various resources in the neuroscience field, for example to a graphical demonstration of the cutaneous fields of peripheral nerves.
- Pre-History of Cognitive Science:An annotated bibliography of models of human cognition from the Seventeenth through Nineteenth Centuries.
- The Whole Brain Atlas: A medical resource created by Harvard Medical School about the brain, which includes neuro images.
Counselling psychology theories
- C.G. Jung Club: Club, which centres on the psychiatrist and psychologist C.G. Jung. They offer a series of lectures and talks around his theories and work; free for members.
- Psychology Tests - Senate House: A list of psychology tests available at Senate House Library.
- APA - Finding information about psychological tests: Great resource to gain knowledge about the psychological tests available on the market.
- British Association for Counselling & Psychoteraphy (BACP)
- British Association for Behavioural & Cognitive Psychotherapies
- British Neuroscience Association
- British Psychological Society
- The Consortium for Therapeutic Communities
- Experimental Psychology Society
- Open University Psychological Society
- Personality Disorder Knowledge & Understanding Framework
- Psychology Postgraduate Affairs Group (PsyPAG)
- American Psychological Association (USA)
- The European Society for Cognitive Psychology
- International Association for Cross-Cultural Psychology
- International Society of Political Psychology
- International Positive Psychology Association
- Norsk Psykolog Forening (Norway)
- Society of Neuroscience (USA)
- Society for Personality and Social Psychology (USA)
- Société Française de Psychologie (France)